Sunday, November 23, 2014

BOOK REVIEW: THE TERRIBLE TWO by Mac Barnett & Jory John

Mac Barnett & Jory John
Amulet Books
Ages 8 - 12

Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that’s famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. In his old school, everyone knew him as the town’s best prankster, but Miles quickly discovers that Yawnee Valley already has a prankster, and a great one. If Miles is going to take the title from this mystery kid, he is going to have to raise his game.

It’s prankster against prankster in an epic war of trickery, until the two finally decide to join forces and pull off the biggest prank ever seen: a prank so huge that it would make the members of the International Order of Disorder proud.

In The Terrible Two, bestselling authors and friends Mac Barnett and Jory John have created a series that has its roots in classic middle-grade literature yet feels fresh and new at the same time.


The Terrible Two is hilarious! I read it out loud to my 6-year-old son who loved every single word of it. The illustrations are a crack-up! I'm in love with the cow. Yes, the COW!

Fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of Wimpy Kid will be enthralled. Reluctant readers will chomp at the bit to turn the pages. If your kids read one funny book this year, this should be it. Really. It's that good.

The Terrible Two doesn't come out until January -- so not fair!!! But you can pre-order it here. Then just stick a photocopy of the book cover in your kid's stocking. Trust me, it'll be worth the wait.

1 comment:

  1. Sounds perfect for a read-aloud book for my two kids. Pinning!