Friday, April 15, 2016


I receive dozens of books in my mailbox every month, but today I'm excited about a book I've just purchased. I've wanted to read SALT TO THE SEA since is came out in February. I did read Ruta's first book, BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY, a historical novel about the injustices perpetrated by Stalin on the Baltic people following World War II. (You can read my review HERE.)I also met her a few years ago, and she encouraged me to write books that matter. Her words really inspired me.

I put off reading SALT TO THE SEA because I've just been so busy, but after watching her interview during the LA Times Book Festival, I had to go right out and buy it. You can watch the video here:

Here is the book summary:

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.
toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

No comments:

Post a Comment